SHORT STORY: "I DON'T WANT TO GO THERE"

photo by Alex Lear

 

 

 

"I Don't Want To Go There"

 

A man was lost. Everywhere he went, no matter whom he met, he remained lost. He grew tired of not finding his way but everyone he asked where was the way would tell him something different. One said, it is far away, over the mountains, across the seas. Another said, no way exists, we are all lost. A third, smiled and said I am searching too, do you want to come with me. And so on. The search was frustrating.

 

Finally, he asked a child where was the way? The child asked where do you want to go? The man said to a better place, a place where there is no hunger, no war, no greed; everybody shares and lives together in peace and harmony. The child replied that sounds like heaven but I don’t want to go there. The man was stunned. And why not, he asked the child. Because you have to die to get there and I’ve just started to live.


—kalamu ya salaam

 

 

1 response
That's a good adage " I don't want to go there ".

One of my favorite's: The way in is the way out, The way out is the way in'
On a sad note I just got a phone call that one of my cousin's got killed last night in a bad car wreck in Washington, D.C.

" no way exists, we are all lost " now that is really profound that's sort of how I feel "we are all lost" maybe more so than others and does a way exist ? Out of 61 years I'm still in the game you more on or get the hell out my way

" I don't want no body to give me nothing, open up the door I'll get it myself " JB

Let me close with this:

'you look up when you desire to be exalted. And I look down, because I am exalted.

'Who among you can at the same time laugh and be exalted ?

'He who climbs upon the highest mountains laughs at all the tragedies, real or imaginary.'

ZARATHUSTRA: 'Of Reading and Writing'